May 5, 2021
To get married in any U.S. state, you first need a marriage license. Though similar across the country, obtaining one is slightly different by each state and county.
Here are a few things to know about getting a marriage license in Utah. Whether you’re traveling here for your wedding or grew up here, these are things every bride should know before their wedding day.
Before your big wedding day, you need to get a license for a legal marriage. In many states, the county clerk’s office requires your information a few days in advance. According to the Utah Courts website, you need these four things in Utah:
You’ll also need to know when and where you’re getting married. Hopefully, you and your fiance made that decision a while ago.
Sometimes there are even variations with marriage licenses through each county, so we’ve included a list of Utah’s counties and the cities of each office’s location. Plan to call your county clerk’s office at least 1-2 weeks before your wedding day since hours may differ.
Your county clerk’s office may also have different procedures for COVID-19.
Marriage licenses also expire, so check with your county for how long your license will last and don’t go in too early!
To solemnize your marriage, you need to perform some sort of ceremony that includes each spouse’s declaration, in the presence of those solemnizing the marriage, that they take each other as husband and wife. This ceremony also needs to occur before witnesses. In Utah, you need to have at least two witnesses who are 18 years or older.
According to the Utah courts website, “A minister, rabbi, priest, bishop, county clerk, Native American spiritual adviser, the governor, mayors, court commissioners and judges, as well as particular members of the legislature may perform wedding ceremonies.” It is also a common option for a family member to get a ministering degree online to perform the ceremony.
Your wedding ceremony officiant, your two witnesses, and of course, you and your new spouse, need to sign your marriage license document for the solemnization to be complete. Remember this important step!
Marriage licenses and certificates are not the same thing. A marriage license is what a couple needs prior to their wedding. A marriage certificate is proof of your actual marriage once you’ve performed the ceremony and after its solemnization.
Generally the officiant of your wedding will turn in your completed marriage license documentation to the county you got married in, but check with them to know where it’s going after the wedding ceremony.
Most counties will then send you your marriage license through the mail, but some prefer you personally pick up your certificate.
Licenses and certificates can sometimes be tricky in that you need to fill out all those documents at the same county clerk’s office of the county you will get married in. For example, if you’re planning to have your wedding ceremony at the Grand America in Salt Lake City, Utah, you would need to fill out a marriage license with the Salt Lake County Clerk’s office. Once your marriage is solemnized you’ll need to send your marriage license to the same Salt Lake County Clerk’s office to receive your certificate.
If this is not your first time getting married, you’ll need a certificate of death or divorce along with the previous documents mentioned for your marriage license, according to Brides.com.
At most, counties charge around $150 for a marriage license and many don’t accept cards. Be sure to check on what your county charges and what they do or do not accept.
Make copies of everything! Even if you believe you won’t have issues turning anything in or getting what you need done it’s important to keep a copy just in case anything goes astray or gets lost in the mail. The last thing you’d want is to be unofficially married after your big wedding day.
In Utah County, if your marriage license expires, they require your original marriage license and a fee to renew it. You can also fill out a marriage license application with them completely online.
For more information on marriage licenses and certificates in Utah, visit your county clerk’s office website or utahcourts.gov